What I learn from my morning run about achieving a business target

I just started running again after pausing for 1 month. It’s quite tough to get 5km on my first day. I just realized after my 3rd day run of why I couldn’t finish my 5km target on the first day.

I realized that I didn’t start with the end in mind. When I started running, I didn’t really focus to finish the 5K, thus my breathing to the second kilometer is not regulated, I didn’t anticipate of what will happen after the 2nd kilometer; things get tougher, my breathing became heavier. I should’ve started the running with regulated 2 by 2 breathing (2 inhales and 2 exhales) since beginning, even though my body said I didn’t have to. My body said I only need a short 1 by 1 breathing, as if I’m only walking. That was the problem.

In business, we usually set a yearly target between end of Q3 or Q4. Say, we’re aiming to double our revenue from $1million this year to $2million in 2014. This is a huge target. Thus, starting January, we should have set the pace of reaching this 100% increase in revenue by end of year. Each month, we will need to have a new regulated monthly target, weekly target and even daily target. We set the additional marketing budget, new additional staff, etc to meet this goal. This way, we are ‘breathing‘ this target in our daily business activities. What will happen when we just do ‘business as usual’ in January? By end of Q1, we will realized we’ve lost too many opportunities and it will be ready too late to achieve the original goal. We need to start with the end in mind even the journey is still 1000 miles away.

Have you start planning the 2014 business target?

About

Eka Aulia is a professional in financial sector with over 9 years experience. He specializes in Business Analytics, CRM strategy and Talent Analytics. He has broad international experience, having lived and worked in 5 cities in 5 countries: New York, Kuala Lumpur, Bangkok, Bangalore and Jakarta. In his spare time he loves to run, read books, drinks a good cup of coffee and listens to jazz music. And he's a triathlete wannabe :) Connect with him on LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/ekaaulia

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

